Quotes from Nisargadatta Maharaj’s “I am That”

  • How does personality come into being? By identifying the present with the past and projecting it into the future. (206)
  • The body-mind is like a room. It is there, but I need not live in it all the time. (153)
  • The person is merely the result of a misunderstanding. In reality, there is no such thing. Feelings, thoughts and actions race before the watcher in endless succession, leaving traces in the brain and creating an illusion of continuity. A reflection of the watcher in the mind creates the sense of “I” and the person acquires an apparently independent existence. In reality there is no person, only the watcher identifying himself with the “I” and the “mine”. (343)
  • It is because the “I am” is false that it wants to continue. Reality need not continue – knowing itself indestructible, it is indifferent of forms and expressions. To strengthen and stabilize the “I am”, we do all sorts of things – all in vain, for the “I am” is being rebuilt from moment to moment. It is unceasing work, and the only radical solution is to dissolve the separative sense of “I am such and such It is not the “I am” that is false, but what you take yourself to be. I can see, beyond the least shadow of doubt, that you are not what you believe yourself to be. (458)
  • What is really your own, you are not conscious of. What you are conscious of is neither you nor yours. Yours is the power of perception, not what you perceive. It is a mistake to take the conscious to be the whole of man. Man is the unconscious, the conscious and the superconscious, but you are not the man. Yours is the cinema screen, the light as well as the seeing power, but the picture is not you. (445)

More Quotes from Nisargadatta Maharaj’s “I am That”