David Godman explains his memories about Nisargadatta Maharaj

Harriet: Have you obeyed his instructions? Have you stopped thinking about the teachings?

David: Until you showed up today I hadn’t really thought about the teachings for years. I haven’t even read many of the new books of dialogues that have come out about him. That answer I gave a few minutes ago, ‘The more I listen to Maharaj, the more I understand what Bhagavan is trying to tell me,’ is in one of the books but I didn’t find out until a few years ago.

My former wife Vasanta was reading the book and she said, ‘There is someone here from Ramanasramam. Do you know who it is?’

She read a few lines and I realised that it was me. I used to read I am That cover to cover about once a year, but I don’t even do that any more. Sometimes, if I am in the Ramanasramam library, I pick up I am That and read the opening sequence of chapter twenty-three. It is a beautiful description of the jnani’s state that I never tire of reading. Other than that, I rarely read or think about the teachings any more.

Having said that, I think it would be correct to say that I have more than enough other concepts in my head which are all acting as a herbicide on the words of truth that Maharaj planted within me. However, I have great faith in the irresistible power of Maharaj’s words. Sooner or later they will bear fruit.

Full Discussion => David Godman remembers Nisargadatta Maharaj